Homeschoolers are WHAT?

Breitbart has launched BigJournalism.com, after taking on BigHollywood and BigGovernment. I don’t get a lot of time to read there, but the post today about an article by an over-schooled, under-experienced elitist ignoramous really chaps my behind. I’m not going to link to the article itself, you can reach it from the post at BigJournalism called “Homeschoolers: Trailer-Park Denizens or Modern Heroes?

I’ve lived near Amish communities in Maryland, Hutterite colonies in Montana and Alberta, and spent time on my grandfather’s and friends farms in northeastern Montana as a child. Many of you have seen the picture of the one room school I attended. I was the only “town kid” there, the other nine were farm and ranch kids. My teacher (“educator” would have made her cringe, as she was a simple, humble REALLY FUN woman), was a longtime friend of the family who drove me with her every day.

The broad who wrote this article is so far from any semblance of sanity that it’s a wonder to me she’s survived. Well, no, it isn’t. The Nanny State and Big Cities are created so idiots like this can survive in spite of their lack of real survivor skills. NOT being religous, the following paragraph still insults me to the bone:

The husbands and wives in these families feel themselves to be under a religious compulsion to have large families, a homebound and submissive wife and mother who is responsible for the schooling of the children, and only one breadwinner. These families are not living in romantic, rural, self-sufficient farmhouses; they are in trailer parks, 1,000 square foot homes, houses owned by relatives, and some, on tarps in fields or parking lots.

The ONLY people who believe rural, self-sufficient lives in farmhouses are “romantic” are city folk who base their opinions on seeing pictures, television shows, and movies. It is a HARD life, full of danger and pain. Every day. No two week vacations, no “sabbaticals” so they can “find themselves” and write – or read – books, no dinner parties. Sometimes there’s a dance at the community hall or an evening at the show. The wives are not submissive – in fact, the Farm Wife is an indispensable cog in the machine.

Though I’m not a Farm Wife, I HAVE lived in a trailer, and in a trailer park. I brush my teeth, feed my cats, make damn good banana bread, care for some little ones, teaching them letters, numbers, and how to use a toilet and how to tie their shoes. I am not computer illiterate, having had a computer in the house since 1990.

I AM a Homemaker – a stay-at-home Mom, teacher, booboo-kisser, housekeeper, laundress, cheer coach/ Room Mom, seamstress, Chief Cook and bottlewasher, and Proud Wife of a Naval Aviator. An indispensable cog in OUR machine. I also home-schooled our daughter her last 18 months of school and she passed the GED to get her high school diploma on the first try. She was 16.

It is NOT humiliating to be able to take care of one’s own life and child’s life, to prepare a meal to feed the people you love, to tuck them in at night knowing you’ll be back at it again in the morning because it is REAL life, not life lived in theory and postcards.

If you can’t think of a non-stereotype for homeschooled children and the family that homeschools them, here’s a picture of one who’s a star, in public and in the hearts of those he helps now:

6 comments

  1. Yeah, as soon as I read that patronizing POS “writer”, I knew that she didn’t know jack about the subject.

  2. People like this prove to me that karma is a fickle thing. She should seldom have anything good in her life…but that ain’t gonna happen, no matter what a dolt she proves herself to be with EVERY word.

    Durn, forgot about being able to reply directly to your comment!

    1. You may have noticed that I forget about that little feature ALL. THE. TIME.

      1. Not that it’s any of my beeswax, but whatchu doing home so early? The ol man just left for work & the kids should all be gone within the hour, which will be the answer to my ONLY prayer of the day! Late night, early early morning after not sleeping real well…then all the kids have sniffles &/or cough plus emotional turmoil in their houses. Been a NOT EASY day. One more hour of dealing with others, then I’m DONE for the week. Early jammies, frozen pizza, Earl Grey tea, & a couple of hours of uninterrupted computer time. YAY!

  3. Feelin’ a little under the weather so left a bit early. Daughter has decided to separate/probably get a divorce which is probably a contributing factor.

    1. Holy crow…you, too. Best friend’s kids got troubles, your kids, my kids got troubles, and one other couple I know. Very much a contributing factor – that “emotional turmoil” I spoke of isn’t confined to one or two places…it spreads.

Leave a Reply

