“No one should ever think you have to be special to help others”

I saw this column last week at JewishWorldReview.com, but have since lost the link. I did find Connie Schultz’ column at her “regular” site, the Cleveland Plain Dealer. out a most ordinary, extraordinary woman. A real Hero.

She resisted all efforts to depict her as a hero. To idealize her, she insisted, was to let off the hook those who fail to act in the face of injustice.

“I am not a hero,” she said. “I don’t like being called a hero because no one should ever think you have to be special to help others. I am just a very common person. I was relieved when Otto unfolded his plan [to hide in the attic] and asked for help.”

She did it as much for herself, as for her friends, she told me.

“I could anticipate the sleepless nights and the remorse I would feel later in life if I did not assist those in trouble. Remorse is far worse than any death I could have faced.”

The world is a sadder place without this ordinary woman…and a better place for having had her in the first place.

Leave a Reply

