Gregg Allman gets liver transplant at the Mayo Clinic in Jax

From Jacksonville.com – via the ever-busy, always-helpful SwampWoman at A1A South:

Gregg Allman returned Wednesday to where his career started four decades earlier to get a new lease on life.
Hours after undergoing a liver transplant at the Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, the Southern rock pioneer and co-founder of the Allman Brothers Band said he was feeling “pretty good,” according to a statement released by the hospital.

Allman, 62, who lives near Savannah, Ga., has been getting treatment for hepatitis C since late 2007. But the damage to his liver had become so great that doctors at the Mayo Clinic placed him on a waiting list for a new liver in February.

The singer and musician, whose hard living turned him into an emblem for rock ’n’ roll’s excesses, has admitted to drug use in the past. But he has said he may have contracted the disease from getting a tattoo.

“I changed my ways years ago,” Allman said in the statement, “but we can’t turn back time. Every day is a gift, and I can’t wait to get back on the road making music with my friends.”

Recover well, Mr. Allman.

There are live versions done more recently than the one I chose to put here, but the sound is crap. You can look ’em up if you want the more recent stuff.

3 comments

  1. swampie · · Reply

    Aaaaaah, the sound of my youth. Love me some southern rock.

  2. I loved southern rock before they even gave it that name…and before I’d ever been south of the Mason-Dixon line. Just seemed more like people I’d know. So, I move to Jax and live 2 doors down from a man who’s been friends with the Skynyrd boys since high school…and I was right, they ARE more like the people I grew up with!

  3. swampie · · Reply

    Yep!

Leave a Reply

