Eight Nine Ten

It takes a sportswriter at Pardon The Interruption to remind me of the date. Thank you, Michael Wilbon!

In other news…well, you read the news or watch television news – I don’t, so you won’t get more than opinion about that kind of stuff from me. I do have a couple bits of flotsam about my personal life, if you’d like to hear ’em.

In case you’re wondering, my BEEoootiful Granddaughter – the Pixie – is 34 months old and more enchanting to her grandma than ever. Really.

My Chief has had a couple promotions in the last 6 or 9 months or so, and no longer drives the short bus. He’s now the night field supervisor for the Community Shuttle. Not bad for a guy who insisted he didn’t want anything but a little job after he retired.

I am suffering greatly in a typical Florida summer. It is my least favorite time of the year – I can think of NO redeeming characteristics for the longest season NEFL has, and believe me, I’ve tried. From the first of June till nearly Halloween, I am a prisoner of air conditioning. Now, that’s not necessarily a bad thing, but the only place where the air conditioning isn’t turned to ICEBERG is my house. I’m not comfortable at restaurants or grocery stores, or even department stores, because they are all cooled to a level perfectly comfortable for Mr. Freeze.

I’ve heard there may be a couple hurricanes in store for us. Lucky for me, I have 3 big tubes of Voltaren gel for my aching knuckles and toes. Changes in barometric pressure nearly lay me out, and combined with extreme heat or extreme cold, I have been pretty much a waste of skin and space.

Aren’t you glad you stopped by for this cheerful little read? Sheesh…must be something amusing around here I can close with, hold on…

Yeah, this should cheer us ALL up!

2 comments

  1. swampie · · Reply

    Oh, dang. I completely missed 8/9/10.

    1. I woulda missed it if it wasn’t for PTI. Don’t feel bad, it’s not as if it really means anything, except for giving me an opening line, that is.

Leave a Reply

