Happy Birthday to my Jingle Pixie!

Three years ago, at 5:51am, a new light was brought into my world, and nothing has been the same since. All my plans for projects and pastimes have been on hold since that day. Many previous commitments were cancelled.

I am Grandma Daycare, and I wouldn’t trade it for anything. My cousin feels the same way. Who knew that these little girls (Cousin has added a handsome boy to her day, too) would arrive to let us keep the wonder of the world right in front of our faces. They change and grow and we are endlessly fascinated with it all. As it turns out, we all grow together, changing along the way.

Life is Good.

2 comments

  1. swampie · · Reply

    I may become MeeMaw daycare next year when daughter has #3. I think the fascination lies in that the first time around, speaking for myself, I was busy trying to make a living, go to school, and do all the kid functions at the same time. You know, bring home the bacon, fry it up in a pan, etc. etc. etc. Unfortunately, I couldn’t have it all without also rushing through the kids’ childhoods instead of taking the time to savor. Maybe everybody feels that way. With the grandkids, now that I know how short the time really is that they are so little, trusting, and adorable, I try to savor every moment.

    Happy Birthday, Pixie!

    1. That’s why we need grandchildren, Swampie. To live the part we didn’t have time for with the kids.

      My Theory: Healthy cave-dwelling Men go forth and kill a woolly mammoth, drag it home. Cave-dwelling Woman takes it apart and makes food and clothing from it. Grandparent cares for cave-dwelling child, being both not strong enough for the hunt and more patient with child. Each has a role to play, a task to accomplish. And though most of the details of life today have changed, I still believe it works best when done this way. Everything has its season. This is just the next in the procession. And I’m so very thankful to have the opportunity, because that was in serious question, not many years ago.

Leave a Reply

