Good cookin’ weather

I have some ham hocks in the freezer. I have a bag of Navy beans. Sounds like the beginning of a beautiful – and tasty – relationship, doesn’t it?

Here’s the ingredient list. I don’t know if I have any carrots, and I’ve not put tomato soup in my bean soup before, but we’ll give it a go tomorrow and see how it turns out.

A 1 pound bag of dry navy beans or
3 cans of canned navy beans
3 Cups Chicken or Vegetable Broth
7 Cups Water
1 Cup Milk
2 Chopped Celery Stalks
2 Minced Garlic Cloves
3 Sliced Carrots
1 Large yellow onion (chopped)
1/4 Cup chopped Fresh Parsley
1/2 teaspoon Black Pepper
2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
1 teaspoon Cayenne Pepper
1 1/2 pounds Smoked Ham Hock
1 10 ounce can of tomato soup

6 comments

  1. Sounds good. I have lots of pinto beans, maybe I better put some in to soak.

    1. A few variations: I added some shredded ham, used dried garlic, not as much carrot or celery as listed here, dried parsley, and half can of petite diced tomatoes instead of tomato soup. Oh, and less than 1/2 cup of milk, we don’t like ours that creamy.

      Duffy ate half the pan, it was just done when he had his last mug-full. Silly boy.

  2. I’ve never tried the tomato soup but the rest closely resembles my ‘Marine Beans’. (dad was a former Marine)

    I add some extra ham and fry up some bacon to add to it.

  3. I’ll put bacon in it next time, thanks for the reminder!

    How you been, haven’t seen you around much lately?

  4. Doing good, just don’t get around the blogasphere as much as I used too. Hangin out at GCP mostly.

    1. I was over there recently! Still a fun group!

Leave a Reply

