Decoration Day/ Memorial Day

We cherish too, the Poppy red
That grows on fields where valor led,
It seems to signal to the skies
That blood of heroes never dies.

~Moina Michael

 

Some history from usmemorialday.org:

Since the late 50’s on the Thursday before Memorial Day, the 1,200 soldiers of the 3d U.S. Infantry place small American flags at each of the more than 260,000 gravestones at Arlington National Cemetery. They then patrol 24 hours a day during the weekend to ensure that each flag remains standing. 

 

2 comments

  1. Finding myself in Washington DC with time on my hands (as you do) I walked & walked. Ended up in this cemetery. Great, I’ll find the unknown soldier, & the Iwo Jima statue.
    It is a much larger cemetery in real life than the impression you get from TV & movies.

    Never did find either the unknown or the statue. Was amazed at how many in the cemetery had never been in the services (wives, children, etc) as had always been led to believe it was service (& ex-service) personnel who were planted there.

    1. As a Navy Wife for 22 years, I am given the privilege of burial in a National Cemetery, of which Arlington is but one. In fact, there is a new one here in Jacksonville, and since my first choice was my home state of Montana but Lovely Daughter and her family are here, I’ve changed my mind and will be planted in the new place…which won’t be so new when the time comes, I hope!

      Thanks for stopping by, Steve (if that IS your name…;D)…now I’m going to read all the comments you’ve left!

Leave a Reply

