I am awed at the company I sometimes keep…(update)

Please visit The Conservatory. If you’re interested in the Real Deal in American and World politics and culture, the straight poop (as my sainted Dad used to say), and enjoy a variety of voices to learn from, stop by and say hi! You won’t regret it!

The ol man sent me the link to this article by the brilliant Joy McCann, and I knew I had to post it. Her excerpts are from an article at Salon, fercryinoutloud!

Two quick little blurbs will suffice, I think. The first is about so-called “Peak Oil:”

In the meantime, it appears that the prophets of an age of renewable energy following Peak Oil got things backwards. We may be living in the era of Peak Renewables, which will be followed by a very long Age of Fossil Fuels that has only just begun.

The second example takes a swing at CO2 emissions:

Meanwhile, for the political leaders, well, I’ll believe it’s a crisis when the people who tell me it’s a crisis start acting like it’s a crisis. Until they start foregoing private jets and beachside mansions, it’s going to be hard for me to take their calls for sacrifice on my part seriously.

Think I’m gonna like hanging out with the brilliant people at The Conservatory. Save me a seat, Bob Belvedere, right next to richard mcenroe and Paco!

3 comments

  1. I is a member already. Joy is a friend and fellow blogger. I have had the occasional chat with her on Facebook!

    1. Collins and I are on each other’s blogroll…or at least we used to be…and we chat on Twitter now and again, too. Real good guy, in my VERY SELDOM HUMBLE opinion.

  2. bobbelvedere · · Reply

    Thank you for the kind words, KC.

    Regarding being humble, I recall this exchange between Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin:

    SINATRA: Why don’t you get serious?

    DINO: I tried being serious Frank, but all I could get was construction work.

Leave a Reply

