Wow…it’s almost July…where DOES the time go…

Waking up in the arms of the man I love makes it very difficult to get out of bed in the morning…*sigh*…well, the coffee’s good, but that’s small compensation.

I’ve been to the beach – at Mayport – four times since last Tuesday. This is more than I’ve been to the beach in all 8 years since I’ve been back from Hawai’i. The ol man has taken up surfing – or at least he’s taken up LEARNING to surf – as a way to get some exercise during the summer in NEFL. I don’t swim, I don’t ski, I don’t dive…I like smooth-water kayaking. I have never been a water baby and I don’t see that changing any time soon. But I’m perfectly content to hang out while Duffy falls off his surfboard. It’s MUCH easier when it’s just the 2 of us, but Kaylee enjoys it, too. We only stay an hour or so, so we don’t get bored or run out of things to do. In fact, I haven’t stayed long enough yet to even check out what’s beachside at Mayport. Maybe one day.

Here’s my view from yesterday:

Maybe I ought to have stayed home and mopped the floors and done the dishes, but y’know, those things have lost their importance to me over the last few weeks…

Happy Monday, everyone, and thanks for stopping by!

We tend to forget that happiness doesn’t come as a result of getting something we don’t have,

but rather of recognizing and appreciating what we do have.

~Frederick Keonig

4 comments

  1. swampie · · Reply

    Wonderful! I NEVER opt to mop floors, wash dishes, etc. if there’s something fun to be done!

    *sigh* I had intended for us to do lots of fun things this summer with the grandkids but, with little pumpkin in arms, it is waaaay easier to stay home. Hmmmm. I need to invite oldest granddaughter over to come out and stay home with us for a couple nights so she can play with her younger cousins, but she might find that too boring.

  2. If anyone’s got a better offer than house work I take it… and usually just about anything is better than housework – when we are on our death beds we surely won’t be lamenting that we shoulda spent more time being a drudge.

    and

    Too many people don’t realise what they’ve got ’til it’s gone.

    1. swampie · · Reply

      Well, I might, because I spend as little time as possible on it!

  3. Last time in Mayport was so long ago. Say about summer of 1975 doing workups on Independence.
    Jax Beach was in 92 on a bread from the GW shakedown. That was the last time I ever went to sea.

Leave a Reply

