From Guideposts

Wouldn’t it be nice to know I’m not the only one when I think I’ve got the world by the tail? But no, I have to get cocky and arrogant when things go my way, then obnoxious and defensive when it all starts to go sour…and I know by now there’s a NEW moment of clarity coming! There’s something comforting about knowing I’m not the only one – no matter what the tough situation might be…

Guidposts.org is the online version of the magazine we get. In just about every issue, there’s ONE story that touches me so closely, I feel like I could’ve written it myself, if I could write like that. There are 2 stories that got me this morning.

I have been married for over 26 years, and you know some of it has been rockier than I’d prefer. I have thrown away any hope of having my husband tell me I look nice or that he loves me, without prompting. Humility is a virtue earned through painful experience.

Beth Moore – a woman I’ve heard speak on tv and who often touches my heart – seems to also feel…inadequate…sometimes.

Now, don’t get me wrong: I don’t begrudge any woman her God-given beauty. It’s just that sometimes I’m amazed at those who can look that gorgeous wearing spandex shorts but not a stitch of makeup. I’m certainly not one of them.

Yeah…I get that…

When I went back inside, Keith seemed oblivious to the drama the two of us had just acted out in my head. He was still glued to that fishing show. I couldn’t help but laugh at myself a little bit. Lord, it would have to be a fishing show, wouldn’t it? I’d been fishing for compliments and come up empty.

Marci Alter wrote the second article that caught my eye – and my heart – this morning. While she speaks of the power of love and forgiveness…something I find difficult to grant promptly…I was struck by the author’s refusal – at first – to live the Unconditional Love she clearly professes.

I’d wanted to be the one who changed Steve’s life. But that wasn’t my role. Only God could touch his heart. Love was what Steve needed from me. Why had I found that so hard to give without conditions? I needed to do something to heal the rift between us before it was too late, before my bitterness inflicted deeper wounds.

Bitterness and unforgiveness (if that’s not a word, it should be) will flay my soul with wounds the way a blackberry bramble can flay my arms.

I’m inspired, once again. Got a nice, easy puttering day ahead of me, hope you have a wonderful Saturday, and thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

