Roundup — Revisited

SwampWoman, over at A1A South, hasn’t quite blown a gasket…yet:

The government is running up HUGE amounts of debt that I never approved of and actually notified my elected “represenatatives” that I opposed to no avail. Bailing out European banks? WTF? Why should I have to pay it back? I think that the representatives that vote for it against their constituents’ wishes should have to pay 100% of the bill.

Kae, author of the Bloodnut Blog, found an interesting article about the impending death Barrier Reef…40 years after the prediction:

The crown of thorns starfish was going to devour the reef 40 years ago and if we didn’t “do something” the reef would be ruined. I haven’t been up there to look, but I’m pretty sure the reef is still there and doing fine (despite the screeching of the doomy-warmers).

In the last 40 years we’ve had the threats of runoff of water from farming areas which is supposedly contaminated with fertilisers and now there’s supposed “ocean acidification”, due to the increase in CO2 in the atmosphere.

There is an interesting article in Quadrant July/August 2011 Volume LV Number 7/8, the latest issue, about the crown of thorns starfish and what it does to The Great Barrier Reef. What is most interesting is what the crown of thorns does for The Great Barrier Reef!

Candidate Paco, of Paco Enterprises, Inc has a knack for translating SanFranNan into language the Average American can understand…not that that helps much:

Seriously, I’m with Bertie Wooster: I can stomach a certain amount of rot, but not absolute rot.

My Pixie is here early, and hubby’s up early, too, so I’ll go now and fix them some breakfast. Y’all have a FINE day, and thanks for stopping by!

*************************************************************************************************************************************************

UPDATE: Hubby’s gone to Mayport to surf, so I’m going to add a couple more links I found interesting. Are you properly thrilled? Sure you are!

On a lighter note, What Not To Crochet has posted some VERY…um…different…takes on crochet. From the comments:

If Hell were yarn……….nuff said. Art my ars.

Over in Spleenville, Andrea has posted an open letter to…well, you’ll see:

LET’S GET SOMETHING STRAIGHT: IT’S MY MONEY. I EARNED IT BY WORKING FOR IT, UNLIKE THE REST OF YOU “COMMUNITY ORGANIZERS” AND LIFETIME POLS. MOST OF YOU HAVEN’T WORKED AN HONEST DAY’S WORK IN YOUR LIVES.

Just to piss some people off, here’s my link to something about Sarah Palin, from The Other McCain:

The liberal media are once again desperately trying to make scandalous mountains out any molehill related to Sarah Palin — FAIL!

There’s some great pictures of Governor Palin at Three Beers Later. GREAT pictures.

And last, but certainly not least, The Daley Gator posted a political cartoon I just love.

Now I really do have to get some chores done. I have a housekeeping job tomorrow, and Sunday (morning, at least) will likely be spent with Duffy at Mayport. I leave you with this song – yes, you’ve seen it here before – same music, different video. Have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

