“Love You More” – a review

First, let me state that I got this book free from BookSneeze, the price being that I agreed to write a review and post it here and on some public review site – in my case, Amazon.

There is no requirement that my review be positive…and that’s a good thing, because I’m pretty sure I’d have to break the agreement. Although the topic of “Love You More: The Divine Surprise of Adopting My Daughter,” written by Jennifer Grant, is near and dear to my heart, it took me a long time to read the slender volume and even longer to write this review. It’s well written, easy to read, and there are some wonderful descriptions of experiences with her children.

“Love You More” is Ms. Grant’s story of adopting a little girl from Guatemala, when she and her husband already have 3 children. The bureaucratic chaos and emotional turmoil at both expected and unforeseen obstacles are real. The story is heartwarming, and a tribute to the persistence of the love Ms. Grant has for children.

What irked me started on page xiii, when she wrote about ‘fielding delicate questions’ from strangers at the market about how her little family came about, and seemingly being stunned at the obtuse remark of one gentleman who said they didn’t ‘match.’  This woman does something most people don’t even think about, but then is surprised that she must explain the ‘difference?’ Please.

Ms. Grant’s expectations of babies, children, and even other grown-ups – not to mention her thoughts of how her life “ought to be” – simply astound me!  There is one place where I felt some compassion and similarity between myself and Ms. Grant – her feeling as a child of being “different.”  Then she gets self-important again. Do you think people who insist they’re non-judgmental are really not making judgments?

I think, like many Americans these days, she completely over-thinks ‘Love.’

I’m glad I’m done with Ms. Grant’s sanctimonious churchiness and elitist attitude at things she seems to take as un-sophisticated, such as the small town where she lived as a child and what she thought the people there were thinking.

I would like to read one more small volume from her, though – when her children become teenagers.

(Edited and cross-posted at Amazon.com)

Leave a Reply

