A change in morning meditation…

‎”Most of us sense that real tolerance of other people’s shortcomings and viewpoints and a respect for their opinions are attitudes which make us more useful to others. Our very lives, as ex-problem drinkers, depend upon our constant thought of others and how we may meet their needs.” ~Alcoholics Anonymous, pg 19-20

So – who’s gonna piss me off today…by not doing what I want, by doing what I don’t want, by saying something I deem to be stupid…by not following the rules I insist are important…who will reveal to me not MY shortcomings, but theirs?

Before I worked the Steps and began to Live the Design outlined in the Big Book, this could easily have been my morning meditation. I’ve had a spiritual awakening and I no longer have the buttons people could push. Controlling the actions and words of others is no longer my job. Reminding myself to treat others with ALL the respect and dignity I would like to be treated with is my meditation now, every morning. Thank you God, thank you AA, and thank you to my Friends everywhere!

Leave a Reply

