I love it when a plan comes together

“Training” for hiking the Foothills Trail is going pretty well…or at least as well as expected, considering we live in Florida. It’s tough to find any significant elevation change here. We’re at 12 feet above sea level. Over at Tillie Fowler Park, there are some trails laid out and maintained by off-road mountain bikers – they’ve built up some whoop-de-do’s, and run their trail up and down the ‘ditch’ beside the regular trail. I don’t know their terminology, probably aren’t ‘whoop-de-do’s’ but you’ll know ’em when you see ’em.

Yesterday, that’s where we hiked, and will do that every other day till we leave. I was carrying 18 pounds. I know I’m strong enough to carry that much, and hope to carry 20 before long (as long as I don’t have to hurry, I can do anything I have to do), but getting my feet used to it is the purpose of this training. So far, so good. Got a good workout, had a good sweat going, heart rate was above my normal – and to top it all off, we saw lots of butterflies. AND my feet didn’t hurt!

Note: If you have motion sickness or vertigo problems, don’t watch this video for very long!

Anyway, it looks like we’re good to go. Duffy got his new down quilt made last Sunday (bought an old down sleeping bag and converted it – will post pics some other time) and since I’m the one who used it when we were at Black Creel Ravines, I give it two thumbs up. It’s VERY nice. I have most of the clothing and gear I need – will be getting underwear on payday – and the pack adjustments Duffy’s made so his old Mariposa fits me better are working well.

My Pixie won’t WILL be here today – it’s Spring Break at St. Mark’s – and she’s come down with tonsilitis. I had that dozens of times as a child, and hope she recuperates quickly. Maybe she can come for lunch tomorrow! Her parents got free tickets to a movie, so she’s spending the night. Evidently she’s feeling MUCH better, and I’m so relieved. Going to have another cup of coffee now, so y’all take care, and thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

