Happy Birthday, Dad

My dad was a genius. He could fix nearly anything. He was funny, and told me my first dirty joke – I think I was 9. He played piano by ear and had a magnificently eclectic collection of records. He was also a loud-mouthed know-it-all son-of-a-bitch, who rebelled at Authority, and as a result quit more jobs than I’ve had in my life. He taught me to drive by hiring my friend to teach me to drive. He taught me how to take a punch – and to throw one.

He was 59 when he died.

Happy Birthday, Michael Henry Cassel. Hug Frosty and Tok for me. I miss you.

4 comments

  1. Lesley · · Reply

    He was somebody! 57? That’s my age, and Glenn’s, and almost your age. I didn’t realize how young he was!

    1. Editing as we speak. He was 59!

      1. Still mighty young, now that we’ve gotten here, isn’t it…

  2. Reblogged this on Among The Joshua Trees and commented:
    My sister, KC at Pixie Place II had this up about Dad. He would have been 80 today.
    He is still missed. Terribly at times.
    He passed on Armistice Day/Remembrance Day/Veteran’s Day of 1991. Appropriate day for an old warrior from a time almost forgotten now.Korea, Quemoy and Matsu, Vietnam before we were “in Vietnam.”

Leave a Reply

