ARMSTRONG: Houston, Tranquillity Base here. The Eagle has landed.

The Eagle has flown…and the sun isn’t quite so bright…we were better for having had him among us…

Here’s a suggestion from his family on how to honour him.

I was between 8th & 9th grade, in a small country school on the prairies of southern Alberta. We lived in housing furnished by the government for teachers. A very small 2 bedroom place, where my sister and I shared one room, my parents had one room, and my brother got the back porch just off the kitchen for his room – it was just big enough to fit a twin bed. Small.

In the living room/dining room there was a tall bookshelf unit, with a small black and white tv on the top shelf. That’s where I saw the coverage of the moon landing, July 20, 1969. At some point, I’m sure there was a copy of National Geographic, which had this article in it.

I remember walking outside and thinking…there are human footprints up there now. Out on that prairie, the moon often felt close enough to touch…we probably tried to tell ourselves we could see those footprints, but of course it was much too far, and something most of us would see only in pictures on television or in magazines.

Moon phase in the Mountain Time Zone on 20 July, 1969…courtesy http://tycho.usno.navy.mil/vphase.html


Since then, I think of Neil Armstrong every single time I say hello to the Man in the Moon…

Leave a Reply

