Pine Mountain Trail ~ Day Two

We returned yesterday from a circuit hike of Lake Wales Ridge in central Florida. Pictures and trip report will be along eventually, but first I need to finish posting pictures from Pine Mountain!

So…here we go…

The 2nd day started easy. Coffee, oatmeal, pack and go.

The 2nd day started easy. Coffee, oatmeal, pack and go.

041

Lunch time[/caption]

Lunch!

Lunch!

The tornado damage was devastating...whole valleys looked like a weed-whacker had been used to lop of trees...

The tornado damage was devastating…whole valleys looked like a weed-whacker had been used to lop of trees…


A cheerful sight after seeing so much destruction. Could only imagine the mood of the workers clearing this mess, after the April 2011 tornado struck..

A cheerful sight after seeing so much destruction. Could only imagine the mood of the workers clearing this mess, after the April 2011 tornado struck..

049

051052

053

The clouds kept it cool...not sure I sweated at all...

The clouds kept it cool…not sure I sweated at all…


Duffy's favorite flower is the bluet. We saw lots of 'em.

Duffy’s favorite flower is the bluet. We saw lots of ’em.


We spent the second night at Whiskey Still camp.

We spent the second night at Whiskey Still camp.


It was spitting rain when we got there, got my poncho on...and it stopped. Got hammocks up, had dinner, Duffy got water and...

It was spitting rain when we got there, got my poncho on…and it stopped. Got hammocks up, had dinner, Duffy got water and…


...it turned cold, we headed for bed. Rain, wind, thunder, lightning, hail...but every tie-down held, and no water got through the tarps. The UQ liner did a FABulous job, too, so no down ever got wet!

…it turned cold, we headed for bed. Rain, wind, thunder, lightning, hail…but every tie-down held, and no water got through the tarps. The UQ liner did a FABulous job, too, so no down ever got wet!

I fell asleep just as the storm was calming, shortly before 7, I think…though evidently another short burst arrived around 10pm that I slept through quite nicely.

So ends the 2nd day on the Pine Mountain Trail. Third day coming up as soon as I get some time. Have a great evening, and thanks for stopping by!

5 comments

  1. swampie · · Reply

    Looks like fun except for the hammock part! (Not a hammock person.)

    1. The hammock is the BEST part, I think. Haven’t slept better since I busted my back up. We are in the process of researching and purchasing and constructing a way to have hammocks at home instead of beds. Not hiker hammocks, but ones that will stay in the bedroom to be used instead of a bed. Duffy’s got GERD real bad, and my back wakes me up in a bed after about 5 1/2 hours. When I sleep in a hammock, I’m good for at least 7 1/2, and usually 8 or 9!

      1. swampie · ·

        I reckon I might need to try another hammock, then! I’m havin’ a hard time, too. Beds or too soft or too hard lately and I haven’t found any just right.

  2. swampie · · Reply

    I’ve been watching YouTube videos showing people making their own hammocks for the past couple days. Do y’all make your own? I know Duffy made the comforter that fits inside. And what about skeeters and such in the summer?

    1. The first hammock Duffy got was a Speer hammock kit that he then made himself. The 2 we use on the trail were pre-made (Warbonnet Blackbirds). They have bug netting over the whole thing. The Speer closes with velcro, the Warbonnets close with zippers. The tablecloth hammocks will be DIY, and be hung from brackets on the wall. Not going to need bug netting for them, since they’ll be in the bedroom. I hope!

Leave a Reply

