Just another ignorant entertainer trying to be relevant

Isn’t it amazing…and disgusting…at the levels of ignorance and hatred that are becoming common once again in this country?

Notice I didn’t say ‘surprising’ – because with this administration and the education most Americans receive from the Government Schools, I’m not the least bit surprised.

The Daley Gator

In this case, it would be Stevie Wonder. Apparently the Zimmerman verdict has so upset little Stevie that he is boycotting Florida, and all other states with Stand Your Ground laws.

 

In the wake of the George Zimmerman acquittal, the singer said he would not be performing in the Sunshine State until its Stand Your Ground law is “abolished.” He also said he would not be performing in any other state that recognizes the law, which some say contributed to Zimmerman’s acquittal in the shooting death of Florida teen Trayvon Martin on Feb. 26, 2012.

“I decided today that until the Stand Your Ground law is abolished in Florida, I will never perform there again,” Wonder said Sunday while performing in Quebec City. “As a matter of fact, wherever I find that law exists, I will not perform in that state or in that part of the world.”

 

So, just…

View original post 18 more words

2 comments

  1. Richard · · Reply

    I’m an Australian who has lived and worked in the USA for a short time in the mid 1970s. It’s given me an interest in what happens in America and also a feeling of being a “friend”.

    The Zimmerman case has made me wonder what’s happening to the the American Justice System.

    As I understand it, Zimmerman was a neighbourhood watch type person who became suspicious of a young man wandering around the area he was watching and stuff happened and the young man was killed. The police investigated, decided that Zimmerman could have handled things better, but there was no criminal act. Case over.

    Then powerful people seemed to think that they could gain political advantage from the case to demand that Zimmerman be persecuted. Even the President of the USA interfered. The usual suspects expressed outrage that a “white hispanic” (whatever that means and, anyway, isn’t that racist?) had got away with murdering an innocent young African-American person for racist reasons. So it now becomes a political trial. Remember them? That’s what the Soviets used to do.

    The American media seemed to be in favour or persecuting Zimmerman. The way they edited his dispatcher calls was was interesting.

    I was astounded when he was not convicted of anything, given that the prosecution had loaded him up with so many charges. My faith in the common sense of the American people got a big boost by the verdict. But then I hear that the federal system wants to prosecute him for something.

    He was investigated by the police and no charges were laid.
    A political campaign saw him arrested and charged with many crimes.
    He was found “not guilty” of any of the charges.
    The government doesn’t believe in the rule of law and wants to convict him of something serious.

    It’s a bit of a worry.

  2. You are not alone in that worry, Richard.

    I, too, was surprised that Zimmerman was found Not Guilty of all charges, considering the tampering I heard was going on with ‘evidence’ and the make-up of the jury. I am NOT surprised that this administration may persecute (I see we also agree that this is a much better term in this case than prosecute) the man further.

    I have never been to Australia, but my dad & mum became landed emigrants to Canada in the late 60’s & we spent 3 years in Southern Alberta. Some of the best years of my life. I learned a bit of French, a bit about Commonwealth, and from assorted teachers – and from the hitchhikers my dad used to bring home, even after we moved to Montana – a bit about Australia. He wanted to go there, My mum vetoed the idea more than once. My husband was US Navy for 22 years, and has visited Australia more than once. We invested in sit-on-top kayaks as a result of one visit. I have always felt kinship with you and your country as a result, and I’m so glad you stop by the Place.

Leave a Reply

