Happy Birthday to ME!

Saturday was the 30th anniversary of my 29th birthday. I got married when I was 29. I also got pregnant. I moved from Indiana to Tennessee to Indiana to Florida. Whew! Things have sure changed.

Since I moved to Pensacola, I have put on about 11 pounds, and for the first time in my life, it shows around my middle. I haven’t been doing training hikes or spending time with my pack on my back on the treadmill. Kaylee was here part of the summer so I didn’t train when she was here, and then there were the driving days to get her between here and Jax. LOTS of sitting. Lots.

Friday night we went to a Thai place here in town and I now have a replacement source for my favorite Thai food (nam sod). Saturday morning, we didn’t do much, as there was a possibility of the ol man having to go into work. Shortly after dawn and coffee, having gotten a beautiful sappy birthday card that made me cry and a small box of mint chocolates (mmm…), we hit Denny’s for the Senior Slam breakfast. Then we puttered around, and did some internet shopping. I found some seat covers for the Honda, in red aloha print. Perfect. I found a recipe for the sweet potato pie I’m taking to the Neighborhood Watch pot luck meeting tonight. And we watched some college football. Sunday we went to the arts festival downtown. It was FABulous, gave me some ideas for things I’d like to do without costing me several hundred bucks…had dinner at Beef O’Brady’s, then came home and ‘watched’ some NFL football on RedZone. An all-round excellent weekend.

But my lack of fitness can only be relieved in one damn way – and that’s for me to get up and DO something. So, after consulting with a former obese couch potato who’s just a bit older than I, I began this morning. The first day is walk 2 minutes, run 1 minute. I only did half the times on the program list, but 15 minutes IS a start, I think. Will try to get on the treadmill when I get the next load of laundry in the dryer. I don’t mind the extra weight, but that little pillow round the middle is embarrassing.

And y’know, I ain’t giving up food. 1900082_10152219278524675_717996890_n

Now, on to the housework. YAY! I’ll let you know how the sweet potato pie goes…first one, ever. And it’s something I don’t eat, so will pass on the opinions of others here, if they’re good. 😀

Y’all have a great day, get prepared for that cold weather coming, and thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

